You are here: 
Home / News / Lifestyle / Sport
rss News rss Articles rss General

Spain became European champions in football

June 30 2008

Spain squad for the second time in its history, became the champion of European football, having won the trophy after a 44-year hiatus. On Sunday, in Vienna at the stadium, "Ernst Happel" in the final match of Euro 2008 the Spaniards with a 1:0 win for Team Germany. In the first 10 minutes of the match against the Germans won the initiative, whose attacks have evolved over the left wing of Philip Lam. Nevertheless, the first dangerous moment was held at the gates of Jens Lehmann, when the goalkeeper to throw the ball after a rebound reflected from his own defender Christoph Metzelder. This was followed by an active 15-minute Spanish, which culminated in a shed Sergio Ramos Fernando Torres and the striker hit his head, after which the ball hit the bar. Still, Torres was able to open an account at this meeting on the 33rd minute. Xavi Hernandez threw him into the breach, and the striker ran away from the defender Lama and throw the ball over Lehmann.

Before half the field broke out of passion. First German captain Michael Ballack broke the face, and he was a rough game against Cesc Fabregas, which almost led to a skirmish on the field, received a yellow card from referee Roberto Rosetti. In the second half, the Spaniards continued to increase pressure at the gate of the Germans, while wards Joachim Loew very rarely came to the penalty Iker Casillas. His counterpart, Lehmann worked hard, but on the edge of the Spaniards attack of high German defenders continued to terrorize the speed Torres. However, with the release of the attack the German team of Kevin Kuranyi poignant moments began to arise and the Spanish gate, which moved a game. In the middle of the second half, followed by a new skirmish players: this time, almost literally "butting" Lukas Podolski and David Silva.

The Spaniards were able to increase their advantage when, within minutes Lehmann saved the gate after the attacks Sergio Ramos and Andres Iniesta, but another blow last over took being on the goal line defender. At the end of the match Spanish team was closer to that to score a second goal than the Germans had to make to recoup and move the meeting into extra time. Nevertheless, the bill has not changed. The Spaniards won 1:0 and the second time in its history were the best team in the continent. His first success was dated 1964 the year when the final was defeated by the Spanish national team of the USSR. The best player in the final match is recognized author of "golden goal Fernando Torres, RIA News .

Print version

Photo Gallery
At this moment...

Week top publications
Popular reading
©2006-2020 All rights reserved display number of browses и visitors for 24 hour