You are here:   /
rss News rss Articles rss General

Today, Armenia chooses the president, the procedure has a number of innovations

February 19 2008

Segond morning in Armenia began presidential election. Polling stations opened at 8:00 Yerevan time (7:00 Msokve). Known favorite vote.

According to surveys, most likely to be elected to the highest office are three candidates: Armenian Prime Minister, leader of the Republican Party of Armenia Serzh Sargsyan, the leader of the Rule of Law "(Country of Law), Arthur Baghdassarian and former president Levon Ter-Petrosyan.

As head of state also claimed the head of the National Unity Party Artashes Geghamian, leader of the People's Party Tigran Karapetyan, head of the party "National Accord" Aram Harutyunyan, the candidate of the Armenian Revolutionary Federation, Vice-Speaker Vahan Hovhannisyan, leader of the National Democratic Union "Manukyan and former adviser to the president of Nagorno-Karabakh Arman Melikyan.

In accordance with the Constitution of Armenia's new president is elected for 50 days before the expiration of his predecessor - the current leader of the Republic, Robert Kocharian, who is completing his second presidential mandate. The country elects a new president for the next 5 years. In the final voter lists included 2 million 328 thousand 320 people. In the voting for the first time do not take part Armenian citizens outside the country. The innovation is in the passport and stamp the voter had already voted.

Polling stations will close at 20:00 local time (19:00 GMT) and first preliminary results are expected to 6:00 (5:00 GMT) environment, according to Channel One.

Print version

Photo Gallery
At this moment...

Week top publications
Popular reading
©2006-2020 All rights reserved display number of browses и visitors for 24 hour