You are here: 
Home / News / Culture / Science
rss News rss Articles rss General

The names of Nobel laureates in physics would be called today

October 7 2008

The Nobel Committee of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences on Tuesday in Stockholm, will present the names of the winners of the 2008 Nobel Prize in physics. Each year the announcement of the prestigious names in the scientific world international award is not without guesswork journalists who exactly could be the winner of the Nobel Prize.

In this case, is seen by journalists over the years has become increasingly difficult to predict because of the changing scientific landscape and the constant emergence of new scientific directions. One hundred years ago, according to Swedish journalists, pre-guess the Nobel laureate was easier. However, efforts still being made. Scientific edition of Swedish radio said, for example, that the Nobel Prize in physics could get hold of the French physicist Alain Aspect, proven ability of the two photons to communicate with each other regardless of the distance between them. Physicists are the same who had managed to stop light, handing the Nobel Prize is early, according to the Swedish edition, explaining that the discovery is made relatively recently.

Responsibility for the selection of Nobel laureates in physics is vested in the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. Its working body is the Nobel committee, the principle of operation is not much different from that of other Nobel committees. Work on the list of candidates is practically year-round. Every year in September, more than a thousand professors in different countries, academic institutions, former Nobel laureates, sent a letter of invitation to participate in the nomination of candidates. From February to October, is working on nominations sent by, the list of candidates and voting.

According to the rules of the Nobel Foundation, the names of candidates for the award may be made public only after 50 years. Awards ceremony held in Stockholm and Oslo on Dec. 10, the day of the death of its founder - Alfred Nobel (1833-1896) - Swedish inventor, industrialist, linguist, philosopher and humanist.

Nobel Prize winner in physics last year were Albert Fert (France) and Peter Grünberg (Germany). The award was presented to them for work in the field of "giant magnetoresistance" (GMR). Thanks to research scientists in recent years managed to radically reduce the size of a hard drive, RIA News .

Print version

Photo Gallery
At this moment...

Week top publications
Popular reading
©2006-2021 All rights reserved display number of browses и visitors for 24 hour